Why was Scott Edwards given ‘run out’ and not ‘stumped’ during NED vs AFG clash?
Netherlands and Afghanistan are taking on each other in Match 34 of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 on Friday, November 04 at Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow. After winning the toss, Netherlands skipper Scott Edwards opted to bat first. The Dutch were going well in the 12th over being 73/1, however, they suffered a dramatic collapse and were restricted to 97/5 in no time.
Captain Scott Edwards was also out for a golden duck as he got run out against Mohammad Nabi. However, fans were left confused and questioned why was Edwards ruled out to be run out and not stumped. Notably, the Dutch captain took a few steps forward after he was beaten by Nabi and hence was declared run out and not stumped.
Why run out, its stumped & its Nabis wicket, isn’t it?
— Farid Habib فرید حبیب (@aminhabib) November 3, 2023
Watch the dismissal here:
#Scott #Edwards #run #stumped #NED #AFG #clash