India vs Australia 2023: Everything you need to know about upcoming series

Categories :

Team India and Australia.
Team India and Australia. (Photo Source: FAROOQ NAEEM/AFP, PHILL MAGAKOE/AFP via Getty Images)

India and Australia are all set to lock horns in a three-match ODI series starting from Friday, September 22 at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali. The series will serve as the final preparation for the ODI World Cup 2023 for both teams. The two sides are in a contrasting state coming into the three-match affair as India were recently crowned Asian Champions while Australia lost against South Africa by 2-3.

Notably, the Kangaroos have had an upper hand over India in the last four series having won three out of them (one at home and two away). Their squad has also been bolstered by the return of several players such as captain Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc and Glenn Maxwell for the series.

However, star batter Travis Head and all-rounder Ashton Agar have missed out from the team. Agar has flown back home for the birth of his first child while Head is in a race against time to get fit for the World Cup after fracturing his hand.

On the other hand, India have rested their senior players such as captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav the first two games. Wicketkeeper batter KL Rahul will be leading the leading the team in Rohit’s absence while veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has returned to the ODI setup after 21 months. Ruturaj Gaikwad has also been included as a backup opener in Rohit’s absence from the first two matches.

India vs Australia 2023 squads:

India’s squad for first two ODIS: KL Rahul (C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

India’s squad for third ODI: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, (Vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel*, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj

Australia squad for three-match ODI series: Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

India vs Australia ODI series schedule:

Date Match Venue
Friday, September 22 1st ODI Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Sunday, September 24 2nd ODI

Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore

Wednesday, September 27 3rd ODI

Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

India vs Australia Broadcast and Live Streaming Details:

Broadcast – Sports18 (English), Colors Cineplex Superhits (Hindi)

Live Streaming – JioCinema


#India #Australia #upcoming #series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *