Angelo Mathews timed out in World Cup 2023

Categories :

Veteran Sri Lanka all-rounder Angelo Mathews became the first-ever batter to be dismissed timed out in international cricket’s history. He was dismissed without facing a ball in the clash between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh at the Arun Jaitely stadium in Delhi on November 6 during an ODI World Cup clash.

He came to bat at No. 6 after Sri Lanka lost the wicket of Sadeera Samarawickrama. The 35-year-old all-rounder was ‘timed out’ after his could not take his position to bat due to an issue with his helmet. Mathews’ helmet had an issue as its strap came off when he was to take the strike. Bangladesh captain Shakib made an appeal to the umpires in the meantime when Mathews was waiting for another helmet to arrive.

Notably, as per MCC Law 40.1, “After the fall of a wicket or the retirement of a batter, the incoming batter must, unless Time has been called, be ready to receive the ball, or for the other batter to be ready to receive the next ball within 3 minutes of the dismissal or retirement. If this requirement is not met, the incoming batter will be out, Timed out.”

However, it must be noted that as per the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup Playing Conditions, the time limit for such an event is two minutes instead of three, which led to Mathews’ dismissal. In such a case, Mathews could have survived only if the opposite team would have withdrawn there appeal.

Mathews did inform Shakib and the umpires that the delay was due to an issue with his equipment, but Bangladesh refused to withdraw the appeal. The umpires were seen having a conversation with the Sri Lankan. However, after a brief intermission, umpires Marais Erasmus and Richard Illingworth ruled him timed out.

#Angelo #Mathews #timed #World #Cup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *