4th umpire justifies Angelo Mathew’s ‘timed out’ dismissal
Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are currently facing each other at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi, with the Sri Lankans having delivered a target of 289 runs. With Bangladesh batting now, it will be interesting to see which team emerges victorious in today’s clash.
In a rare turn of events, Sri Lankan cricketer Angelo Mathew was handed a wicket after he reached the crease to bat within a long while. On his arrival, it was appealed by the Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan that the batter didn’t come to the field within 3 minutes which was in contrast with the rule. As a result, Mathew left the field in fury, throwing away his helmet and bat.
What prompted Angelo to delay?
It was actually Angelo Mathew’s helmet whose strap got broken with him waiting for a new helmet. The moment the helmet came and Matthew arrived on the crease, Bangladeshi skipper Shakib Al Hasan appealed for his wicket that was agreed to by all the umpires.
4th umpire’s stance
During the break, in a video shared by ICC’s official Instagram handle, the interviewer can be seen asking the 4th umpire Adrian Holdstock to explain Angelo’s bizarre dismissal. The umpire went on to say that firstly Angelo Mathew didn’t arrive on the field within the said time-slot as stated in the rule book. Secondly, he claimed that even before his helmet’s strap got broken, he had already elapsed the time which is stated to be 2-minutes according to the rule.
He asserted that the time had already elapsed before him waiting for the helmet and that he was not ready to receive the ball within the time boundation of 2 minutes. Adrian Holdstock further claimed that there was no such case as equipment malfunction and his dismissal came in accordance with the rule only.
Stay updated with all the cricketing action, follow Cricadium on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram
#4th #umpire #justifies #Angelo #Mathews #timed #dismissal